History Of Hapua

1981: The Establishment of HAPUA

Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities/Authorities (HAPUA) established in 1981 by 5 (five) member countries namely:

  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand

1996: Classification of Project Cooperation

In 12th Meeting of the HAPUA held in 1996 in Bali, the MOU of the Forum of the HAPUA was signed by 7 member countries including Brunei Darussalam and Vietnam, with 10 Project Cooperation classified into two categories :

Category A: Annual meeting

  • Interconnection (Focal Point : Malaysia)
  • Research, Development and Engineering (Focal Point : Indonesia)
  • Training and Development (Focal Point : Malaysia)
  • Corporatization/Privatization of Power Utilities (Focal Point : Philippines)

Category B: Networking arrangement and to hold the meeting only after obtaining approval from the forum of HAPUA

  • Micro/Mini-Hydro Development (Focal Point : Indonesia)
  • Rural and Urban Electrification (Focal Point : Thailand)
  • Standardization (Focal Point : Singapore)
  • Electric Power Information Center (EPIC) (Focal Point : Thailand)
  • Use of Combined Cycle Power Plant (Focal Point: Thailand)
  • Geothermal Energy Development (Focal Point : Philippines)

2004: Signing of MoU and Establishment of New Structure of HAPUA Organization

In the 20th Meeting of the HAPUA held in May 2004 in Siem Reap, Cambodia, the MoU of HAPUA and the new structure of HAPUA organization was signed by all member countries. The new structure was:

  • HAPUA Council
  • HAPUA Secretariat – Indonesia
  • HAPUA Country Coordinator
  • Project Coordinator for 8 HAPUA Working Group:
  1. Generation (Project Coordinator: Malaysia)
  2. Interconnection (Project Coordinator :Thailand
  3. Distribution (Project Coordinator : Indonesia)
  4. Renewable Energy ( Project Coordinator : Vietnam)
  5. Electricity Supply Industry (ESI) (Project Coordinator : Philippines)
  6. Resource Development (Project Coordinator : Thailand)
  7. Power Reliability and Quality (Project Coordinator : Singapore)
  8. Human resources (Project Coordinator : Malaysia)

2007: The Establishment of APGCC

In addition to implement to the MOU of APG, HAPUA created the APGCC in 2007. The First Chairman of the APGCC was Y. Bhg. Dato’ Md. Sidek Ahmad, Malaysia. The current APGCC Chairman is Mr. Bambang Hermawanto from Indonesia.

2012: New Working Groups Structure

The 28th HAPUA Council Meeting in June 2012 in Brunei Darussalam resulted the new restructure of the HAPUA Working Group:

  • HAPUA Working Group No. 1 – Generation & Renewable Energy
  • HAPUA Working Group No. 2 – Transmission / APG
  • HAPUA Working Group No. 3 – Distribution and Power Reliability & Quality
  • HAPUA Working Group No. 4 – Policy Studies & Commercial Development
  • HAPUA Working Group No. 5 – Human Resources